You will be redirected to the page you want to view in  seconds.

House oversight panel announces new subcommittee chairs

Jan. 3, 2013 - 10:07AM   |  
By ANDY MEDICI   |   Comments
Rep. Blake Farenthold
Rep. Blake Farenthold (Blake Farenthold for Congress)


Rep. Blake Farenthold, R-Texas, is the new chairman of the House panel overseeing the federal workforce under a reorganization announced Wednesday.

Farenthold takes over from Rep. Dennis Ross, R-Fla., who moved to the House Financial Services Committee.

House Oversight and Government Reform Committee Chairman Darrell Issa announced the shift as part of a reorganization that will trim the panel’s subcommittees from seven to five.

Rep. John Mica, R-Fla., is chairman of the newly named government operations subcommittee, where he will continue his oversight of the General Services Administration, one of his responsibilities as the former chairman of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee. Term limits barred Mica from seeking another term as chairman of that committee.

Other subcommittee assignments:

• Rep. Jason Chaffetz, R-Utah, will be chairman of the national security subcommittee.

• Rep. Jim Jordan, R-Ohio, will be chairman of the subcommittee on economic growth, job creation and regulatory affairs.

• Rep. James Lankford, R-Okla., will be chairman of the subcommittee on energy policy, health care and entitlements.

“This team is dedicated to working tirelessly on behalf of the American people to create a more efficient federal government that better serves taxpayers,” Issa said.

More In Congress

More Headlines