You will be redirected to the page you want to view in  seconds.

GSA urges LEED, Green Globes as standards

Oct. 28, 2013 - 05:09PM   |  
By ANDY MEDICI Staff writer   |   Comments

The General Services Administration is recommending federal agencies use one of two green building certification standards in future building projects: LEED or Green Globes.

Both standards measure how well building projects incorporate designs and features that are energy-efficient and eco-friendly. LEED refers to the Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design program, developed by the Green Building Council; the Green Globes system is a standard developed by the Green Building Initiative.

Every five years, GSA must recommend which standard should be used for federal projects. The Energy Department ultimately decides federal policy on their use.

Most agencies, including GSA, use the LEED system, though some agencies have used the Green Globes system, as well. GSA first chose the LEED standard in 2006, when there were few alternatives available. But now, there are many more to choose from.

In an Oct. 25 letter to Energy Secretary Ernest Moniz, GSA Administrator Dan Tangherlini said agencies should choose one of the two standards and stick with it to provide consistency.

Tangherlini urged agencies to develop a review process to evaluate new green certification standards as they are revised or created.

More In Facilities, Fleet & Energy

More Headlines