Category management could improve GSA contracting

The General Services Administration is looking to boost its market share and reduce contract duplication through "category management" — where procurement experts offer guidance to agencies on how to save money and acquire goods and services more efficiently.

The Strategic Sourcing Leadership Council has approved 17 total categories: 10 non-defense and 7 defense related.

These governmentwide categories will provide the structure for agencies to collect prices-paid data, conduct data analysis, gather contract intelligence, and create more effective, efficient contracts, according to GSA.

Related: Taking category management nationwide

The categories will help agencies better understand where spending is going through tracking tools, will help reduce contract duplication and will allow agencies to focus on their own missions, according to GSA's Federal Acquisition Service Commissioner Tom Sharpe.

"That simply means that for these categories, we increasingly are having our procurement obligations go in a direction that best meets the taxpayers' interests," Sharpe said.

The development of the categories will help the agency boost its market share from 15 percent of federal spending to 33 percent in three years, Sharpe said.

Non Defense Categories

Photo Credit: GSA/Staff

Recommended for you
Around The Web